creative structure – I am

The idea began to formulate with this drawing, a few years back.  I can’t recall exact date, it’s been so long.  I was working on other things, so I got this down, if only to hold the thoughts, and then I put it aside. I brought it out again last year.

Body Laboratory
Casein, Prisma and graphite
40″ x 25″

Artist Statement:

These mixed media drawings and painting on canvas and on paper use line, form and color to represent a complex connection between body, mind, and spirit.

Looking closely at body structure I realize it is more sophisticated than any system or technology ever created by man.

I have interest in the esoteric concepts of the chakras. A chakra is believed to be a center of activity within the body that receives, assimilates, and expresses life force energy. The chakras connect anatomy, emotion and thought pattern. Color is an added element to the teaching that naturally calls my attention.

A Constant Vital Commotion
Mixed Media (casein,egg tempera, crayon)
35” X 45”
2009

I go back and forth from realism to abstraction, because I enjoy ‘looking’ and then ‘putting down’ what I see, but I also like to loosen up and mark make, play with the materials.  I love a line.

What am I? /  Who Am I?… are usually the questions. The answer in the paining above is…one constant and vital commotion.

Constant– unchanging, immutable, permanent.
perpetual, unremitting, uninterrupted.
incessant, ceaseless.
steady, unwavering, unswerving.
Vital– characteristic of life or living beings
animated, dynamic, energetic, forceful, spirited, vibrant, vigorous, vivacious, zestful
Commotion– A condition of motion
tumultuous motion, bustle

Which brings me to the present and my current work:

Creative– having the quality or power of creating.
Structure– a complex system considered from the point of view of the whole rather than of any single part

Below is the developmental stages of a new work.  Sources from classical to folk art influence me… Leonardo to  Milagros (Mexican votive).

The drawing begins as a quick sketch. I have all my usual water soluble materials out because I know I want color.  I also want to make marks, emphasize line, and bring in detail, so out come the graphite, color pencils, a sharpener, and  fine brushes.

…months later….

Creative Structure
Mixed Media (casein, egg tempera, gouache, graphite, crayon and prisma on paper)
28” x 20”
2011

The life-size work below called   in both english and spanish. The painting has various levels of meaning, it’s not only about all the parts, it’s also about the whole,  literal and symbolic.

Creative Structure-I am / Yo Soy–Estructura Creativa
Mixed Media on Canvas
74″ x 86″
2011


Monica Aissa Martinez, born and raised in El Paso, TX, lives and works in Phoenix. She attended the University of Texas at El Paso where she studied Metals and Ceramics. She earned a master of fine arts from New Mexico State University, with emphasis in Drawing and Printmaking.

Her work has exhibited in the Phoenix Art Museum (Local’s Only), the Tucson Museum of Art (AZ biennial ’09), the ASU Art Museum (Here and Now), Tempe Center for the Arts, Mesa Arts Center, and the Scottsdale Center for the Arts (solo). Her work has been seen internationally, and is part of of numerous private and public collections including: New Mexico State University, Mesa Arts Center, Phoenix Municipal Court House, Scottsdale Museum of Contemporary of Art, Arizona State University, and Brigham Young University.

Martinez’s drawing, paintings and prints are featured in three publications through the Hispanic Research Center and Bilingual Press/Editorial Bilingue of Arizona State University. Both ASU and the University of Norte Dame have commissioned Martinez to create limited edition prints.

About monica

MonicaAissaMartinez.com
This entry was posted in art, art exhibition, art process, artist bio and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to creative structure – I am

  1. Hi Monica –
    By seeing yourself as “one constant and vital commotion”/ not always a Realist/ not always an Abstractionist/ not always a Realist-Abstractionist you won’t allow others to put you into a box; to categorize you.
    This is a good thing!
    The Artist has to remain free to receive the gifts of their Muse (or to put it another way – to a receive life force energy from their Muse).
    May It Ever Be So!

  2. Beth Shook says:

    “I love a line.”
    🙂

Leave a Reply

