it’s personal with sue

Sue's tabletop with Pokie in background.

Who’s that?  I ask about the dog in the photo above (and below).

Sue:
The Dog is my 14-year-old dog Pokie. (after the golden book ‘The Pokie Little Puppy’)  I have had her since she was a tiny pup.

Sue has a few words about the work…

This series of painting, which I call ‘Quid Pro Quo’ paintings are very dear to my heart because they are documenting an exchange between a friend and myself.

…I look the word up….

Latin quid (what) pro (for) quo (what), something for something.
Quid pro quo (From the Latin meaning “this for that”) indicates a more-or-less equal exchange or substitution of goods or services. English speakers often use the term to mean “a favor for a favor” and the phrases with almost identical meaning include: “what for what”, “give and take”, “tit for tat”, “this for that”, and “you scratch my back, and I’ll scratch yours”.

…but they are much more than that.  In essence, they are about things that I cannot have but stay with me, in my heart.

They are about the white whale.  The Ghost.

Futile Energy

The small work above is a painting called ‘Futile Energy’  It has a single light house overlooking a surreal landscape.    I know what it’s about but find it hard to put into words (hopely by the opening I will figure out how to talk about it).  It is very personal and  is the cumulation of all the paintings.  The period at the end of the sentence.

That last sentence catches my attention fully.
That’s it. That’s all she wrote. It’s enough for now.

Sue has in mind to also complete a sculpture.  She’s looking for a small mountain. She’s having a challenge fining it.  Too bad cause it would be interesting to see what more she could come up with. And how would add to the last thought.

About monica

MonicaAissaMartinez.com
This entry was posted in art, art process and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to it’s personal with sue

  1. I think I am scratching the mountains for this show, but putting them in my next show that opens in October. I think.

Leave a Reply

